Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Quantico
3097 Jefferson Davis Highway
Stafford, VA 22554
Phone: (540) 288-9051
Fax: (540) 288-9052
Created sometime around 1650, the crucifix is dedicated to the first English catholic settlers in Virginia after a proclamation was obtained from James II, granting freedom of religion to the colonists living on the 30,000 acre Brenton Tract. This monument commemorates one of the first examples of religious freedom in the new world.
This church is one of the oldest colonial churches still in use in America. It was built between 1751 and 1757, and is noted for its three-tiered pulpit and Aquia stone trim. Visitors travel from around the world to study its example of the Lord's Prayer as hand-painted in calligraphy on wood behind the altar.
This monument marks the location of Aquia Church, which was formed before 1680 by the Division of Potomac Parish.
Rich in Aquia Creek Sandstone, a major building material in the 17th Century, Government Island was extensively used as a stone quarry, and contributed to numerous government buildings including the U.S. Capitol Building. Usage of newer and tougher materials led to its subsequent decline as a quarry. Today, the facility is a lush natural preserve offering ample activities for nature and outdoor enthusiasts.
The present courthouse sits on the sites of the wartime courthouse, which served as the headquarters for the Union XII Corps. On the front lawn is a local Vietnam Veterans Memorial.
The Principio Company constructed this site about 1726 on land leased from Augustine Washington, the father of George Washington, who was a partner in the company. The archaeological site is a rare example of 18th century Virginia industrial enterprise. It includes the furnace location, the wheel pit and races, a retaining wall made of slag, and extensive slag dump and mine pitts.
Four hundred beautiful acres of outdoor fun awaits you at this park which includes batting cages, miniature golf, driving range, playgrounds, tennis courts, hiking trails, picnic pavilions, a sand volleyball court, and a well stocked eight acre pond.
This historic church was was damaged during the Civil War, but its cemetery still remains. The current structure dates to 1904.
This historic cemetery is situated on over seven hundred rolling, wooded acres that contain the burial sites of American war veterans. Hundreds of flags mark the walkways and there are seven memorials within the cemetery.
Explore stellar natural landscapes and discover native plant and animal life at Prince William Forest Park, established in 1936. This lush oasis is one of the largest green spaces in the region and houses a spectacular array of native animal species. A haven for naturalists, the park also offers excellent opportunities for outdoor enthusiasts, from hiking to camping. The park also offers educational programs to create awareness of the area's rich diversity and ecosystem. Check website for more.
Aquia Landing was the part of the Richmond, Fredericksburg and Potomac Railroad. From here, passengers took steamboats up the Potomac River to Washington, DC. During the Civil War, it was a very important and highly sought-after logistical access point. Today, visitors enjoy a public beach, fishing, boating, and picnic areas.
Belmont-Gari Melchers Estate and Memorial Gallery is a beautiful house that was the former residence of the famous painter Gari Melchers. The house today has turned into a museum with archives of the painter's works, studio all stocked up. Built in 1761, the house is built in Georgian style and idyllic interiors and facades. The house is furnished and has all the antiques, artifacts and lovely paintings on display. A great visit for art connoisseurs.